New year, new hair

gwenstella ash grey hair retro vintage style

gwenstella ash grey hair retro vintage styleI finally got my hair done again just a week before the Lunar New Year, and I’m so happy to go from cheap to chic!

My last hair dye job was in August 2016 and while the colour was glorious at the start, it faded fairly quickly despite the fact that I was only washing my hair 2-3 times each week. I ended up having to tolerate a cheap brassy tone for the longest time, because getting a hair appointment once every 3 months just for the colour isn’t quite the lifestyle that I want.

gwenstella ash grey hair retro vintage style

I am hoping that my new hair colour will last longer this time. My scalp has been slowly adjusting to the reduced frequency of hair washing, and I am now down to washing my hair 1-2 times only each week. (Hooray to less waster usage, less shampoo usage, and less time spent in the shower!)

gwenstella ash grey hair retro vintage style

gwenstella ash grey hair retro vintage style

On top of that, I am also using a colour shampoo once a week which will hopefully help to retain the vibrancy of my current dye job. As I said before, bleaching my hair and getting a balayage at a proper salon is definitely one of the best things I have done to my hair. My bleached locks is less slippery to work with when I put them in foam rollers. Also, curls show up so much better with the colour!

I haven’t quite decided on a go-to colour yet. I am not sure if I will ever have one. There’s a good chance that I will do pink again once my hair is long enough for the ends to be easily hidden in a bun for when I go to work. But for now, I’m just gonna stick with ash grey for at least the next 6 months or so. Let’s see if it works out! x

gwenstella ash grey hair retro vintage style

gwenstella ash grey hair retro vintage style

 

Leave a Reply

