The girl with sunlight in her hair

gwenstella asian balayage ombre brown gold hair dye

gwenstella asian balayage ombre brown gold hair dyeThe last time I bleached (almost half of) my hair was about 4 years ago. I loved it, I had to cut it, and I have always missed it… until now.

Back then, I was just a student in my last year of uni. A roommate I was living with kindly offered to bleach my hair for me. My hair was almost up to my waist; I had nothing to lose.

gwenstella balayage ombre asian hair

Circa August 2012. (Note the thrifted vintage woollen jumper and glasses – I was a hipster)

gwenstella balayage ombre asian hair

Circa August 2012. (Yes, definitely digging the hipster grandpa style with my other thrifted vintage oversized knitted jumper and laced-up brogues)

Circa September 2012

Circa September 2012

Circa March 2013

Circa March 2013.

gwenstella ombre dip dye pink hair manic panic pretty flamingo

Circa May 2013.

It was done on a cold winter afternoon, with just a single box of blonde hair dye/bleach, a plastic comb and some aluminium foil. The wait was long, and the smell of hydrogen peroxide was strong. I didn’t know what to expect. But the result was nothing short of exciting. I was a true rebel! Bleached ends! My life was full possibilities!

Unsurprisingly, a couple of weeks later, I bought my first bottle of Manic Panic colour in the loveliest shade of pink – Pretty Flamingo. I became a unicorn…

As it usually goes, another life happened after uni, and I shed my unicorn mane.

Since then, I have always dreamt about colouring my hair again. I decided to get a balayage done on my hair after seeing a photo of Alexa Chung on Pinterest one day. Many of the trendy hair colour salons that I enquired quoted approximately $200-300++ for the colour treatment, and I decided that it was too costly for me. (I mean, I’d rather buy a rare 1950s Hawaiian dress with matching bolero with that kind of money.)

gwenstella asian balayage ombre brown gold hair dye

gwenstella asian balayage ombre brown gold hair dye

gwenstella asian balayage ombre brown gold hair dye

Wearing: Green gold glitter crop top (second-hand via Carousell app), high-waisted denim shorts (purchased in Sydney over 3 years ago), beaded gold bag (second-hand via Carousell app), laced-up flats (via online shopping market)

But the universe had other plans (or rather, Google was good at their algorithms). I came across Ivy Rupef’s page on Instagram (@ivyrupefhair) by chance one day. The price that was quoted seemed so much more affordable, so I contacted her immediately for an appointment. Ivy was very knowledgeable in the area of hair colouring and very professional. The entire process took around 2.5 hours and cost me only $148 for my shoulder-length hair. The result is absolutely fantastic! I have gotten so many compliments on it and I’m just so in love with how it looks. How is it that it took me so long to get this done?

My hair is bright again and so are my days. x

2 thoughts on “The girl with sunlight in her hair

Leave a Reply

