STYLE: Gingham all the way! (Part 1 of 2)

Gingham pin-up outfit

Wearing: Gingham peasant blouse (ASOS), retro ‘Call Me’ telephone bag (Betsey Johnson), everything else from eons ago or eBay

A few months ago, I bought a new gingham peasant-style cropped blouse from ASOS (when it was on sale) and I went gaga over it, wearing it almost every weekend in different styles. If you are following me on Instagram, you would have seen a few of those outfit posts. And now, I will be sharing more photos and talking about the outfits in details on the blog!

Let’s start off with the outfit that turned out to be the most pleasant surprise… This outfit was in part inspired by pin-up fashion and in part out of the sheer desperation from the chronic “I have nothing to wear” syndrome that so many of us battle with. I wore the gingham peasant blouse with my uber tight-fitted 4-year-old denim pinafore and my (?)14-year-old pink heart belt.

Gingham pin-up outfit

Gingham pin-up outfit

Oh sweet thing – I think I bought the pink belt when I was 12. I can’t really explain why I have held on to it for so long. I can’t even remember the last time I wore this belt. Have I ever worn this belt? I don’t even know now. Maybe I kept it with me because it felt special to me and I thought it would come to good use one day.. and also, it’s super cute! Honestly, I don’t know where I could get belts like this anymore. Seriously, I would love to have this in EVERY COLOUR. Bumblebee yellow, black, baby blue, forest green… etc.

Betsey Johnson Retro Call Me Telephone Bag

That little Betsey Johnson ‘Call Me’ telephone bag is something newer but still very special to me – it was a Christmas present from my boo last year. The coolest thing about this bag is that the phone actually connects to your mobile and works as a functional receiver. The sound quality from this receiver is actually really good, definitely much better than some random $3 plastic piece of crap I got from eBay years ago.

Betsey Johnson Retro Call Me Telephone Bag

But, as with a lot of things that are special, I don’t use this bag enough. The same goes for my special dresses and special accessories. Yeah, I’m the kind of person who saves the best piece of meat for the last when eating. I guess I do the same for material goods I own.

Also, pink eye shadow to match my pink belt...

Also, pink eye shadow to match my pink belt…

Close-up

Close-up

My boyfriend often laments about how I haven’t worn a few of the vintage accessories he got me as presents. Well, I just want to save them… for something…!!!(???) But then again, he will definitely be glad to know that I am keeping those presents for at least 14 years, just like what I have done with my sweet pink belt. One day, my pink belt will become a vintage item. Ha!

Anyway, if you like this outfit that I have shared, please stay tuned for the other outfits I created with this gingham cropped blouse in the next blog post!

***

Do you also like “saving” things for something special? Tell me all about it!

 

9 thoughts on “STYLE: Gingham all the way! (Part 1 of 2)

  1. That purse! Heavens to Betsy (to borrow a great vintage expression :)), what a show-stoppingly cool handbag. This whole outfit is as cute as a litter of kittens and looks all kinds of fabulous on you, dear gal.

    Happy December wishes!
    ♥ Jessica

  2. I save the best piece of meat for last too! But I have stopped saving clothes ‘for best’, I wear things more often these days. Your outfit is adorable, and that bag is amazing!! Functional receiver?! Xx

  3. I love seeing the different ways that you style this gorgeous gingham blouse on Instagram and this is so cute! I just love the bag and shoes too. I always save clothing/accessories, I have been holding onto a few outfits for my holiday to New Zealand in January – so I’m pretty excited for that! x

  4. Ah! I can’t believe that your bag actually works as a receiver! That is sooo cool! I just adore multipurpose things, so I’m totally into that! I tend to just use up my ‘special’ things as often as I can once I realised that sometimes they get ruined (dust/moths/deep creases) by trying to save them. So it’s kind of like ~ Oh, well ~ I might as well use it and enjoy it then! 😀 ❤

    xox,
    bonita of Lavender & Twill

  5. Oh yes, I do that too! I keep things to wear for a special occasion, but sometimes it feels like that chance to wear them is forever away – I do try to wear more “special” things on a daily basis now though because they’re some of my favourites. Your pink belt is amazing though – you’re right, I’m not sure where you’d find one like it now, but I wish I knew!
    I love this outfit, it’s the perfect mix of modern and pin up – it’s super cute!
    Following you now – can’t wait to see more 🙂

  6. Pingback: OUTFIT: Gingham all the way! (Part 2 of 2) | Gwenstella Made

Leave a Reply

