TRAVEL: Perth (2015)

The last time I visited Australia was in 2012 when I flew back to Sydney for my graduation ceremony. That’s 3 years ago.

My, my, how time flies.

Imagine my excitement when my boyfriend and I decided to visit Perth for a short getaway! All I could think about was the dancing and shopping I would do. My boyfriend, on the other hand, wanted to pet little roos.

Fortunately, we sorted out our different expectations and managed to get everything we both wanted during the short 4 day trip to Perth. Here are my highlights of the trip (complete with ootd photos, of course):

DAY ONE

Touched down in Perth! Our flight was delayed by 6 hours because, you know, Jetstar. You know, the Australian sunshine is a wonderful thing.

Wearing: Freddies of Pinewood Lana jeans, tailor-made tartan blouse (from my trip to Vietnam earlier this year), thrifted vintage style woven straw bag

Wearing: Freddies of Pinewood Lana jeans, tailor-made tartan blouse (from my trip to Vietnam earlier this year), thrifted vintage style woven straw bag

I made my way to Mustang Bar in the evening for some good ol’ rockabilly and rock n roll dancing. It was a Saturday night and Shotdown from Sugartown was playing. It has been ages since I got to dance rockabilly and rock n roll, and I have to say it was nerve-wrecking at the start. But fortunately I met some really lovely folks who were happy to dance with me. If you saw an awkward Asian chick on the dance floor that night… that’ll be me.

Mustang Bar Rockabilly dancing Perth Western Australia

DAY TWO

Perth skyline tourism Western Australia

Perth Western Australia

I enjoyed a stunning view of the Perth skyline while we waited for the ferry to take us to the CBD. Oh, and I had my second cup of soy chai latte for the trip.

After brunch, my boyfriend and I walked along Cottesloe beach, where the sand was white and the sea was green. Then, we spent the rest of the day wandering around Fremantle Markets and the rest of Freo (a local pet name for Fremantle).

Perth Tourism Western Australia Cottesloe Beach

Perth Tourism Western Australia Cottesloe Beach vintage style

Fremantle Markets Freo Western Australia Tourism

Wearing: Me-made gingham dress (here), thrifted woven straw bag, new sunnies from Freo Markets

Wearing: Me-made gingham dress (blogged here), thrifted woven straw bag, new sunnies from Freo Markets

The day ended with a drink at the Little Creatures brewery and a taste of Fish and Chip flavoured gelato at Kailis. The latter was.. odd.

DAY THREE

While my boyfriend was sweating it out doing Brazilian Jiu-jitsu at a local gym in the morning, I roamed the Perth CBD alone. All the old architecture in the CBD looked so amazing to me. His Majesty’s Theatre was my favourite.

His Majesty's Theatre Perth Western Australia architecture

His Majesty’s Theatre, Perth

And of course, I did a little shopping in the CBD. A trip to Australia will not be complete without a trip to Target. I scored some really cute things, like this pineapple mason jar.

pineapple mason jar target australia

In the afternoon, my boyfriend had one thing checked off his bucket list – he petted a kangaroo at the Caversham Wildlife Reserve Park. Yep, the roo was a real cutie.

Caversham Wildlife Reserve Park kangaroo Perth Western Australia

vintage style 1960s Aloha gingham uniqlo sunjellies jelly shoes

Wearing: Mint jellies from Sunjellies

DAY FOUR

vintage style gingham tailormade handmade

Wearing: Tailor-made yellow blouse (from my trip to Vietnam earlier this year), thrifted woven straw bag

Alas, the last day of the trip. I finally got the chance to do some op-shopping and vintage shopping. I won’t go into much details yet because I will be talking more about vintage shopping in Perth CBD in my next post.

Oh Henry! Vintage shopping Perth Western Australia

Then, we made a final stop at Whisk in Subiaco. The mint milkshake was divine and I tried a cronut for the first time in my life. I wish I could go back for more now!

Whisk Creamery Subiaco Perth Western Australia

Whisk Creamery Subiaco Perth Western Australia

Do you live in Perth? Tell me all about your favourite spots and let me know if I should be trying something new the next time I visit! x G

 

Caversham Wildlife Reserve Park - B/99 Lord Street, Whiteman WA 6068
Cottesloe beach - Cottesloe, WA 6011
Fremantle Markets - Corner South Terrace & Henderson Street, Fremantle WA 6959
His Majesty's Theatre - 825 Hay St, Perth, WA 6000
Kailis - 46 Mews Road, Fremantle, WA 6959
Little Creatures Brewery - 40 Mews Road, Fremantle, WA 6959
Mustang Bar - 46 Lake St, Northbridge, WA 6003
Whisk - 151 Rokeby Rd, Subiaco, WA 6008

 

3 thoughts on “TRAVEL: Perth (2015)

  1. Your trip looks soo amazing! Also girl, I am LOVING your casual sixties style. I don’t know why it’s just hitting me, but those sleeveless top + cropped trouser combos are AMAZING. I want to know where your yellow gingham trousers came from!

  2. Great outfits one and all. I really enjoyed the common theme of the same pair of white huaraches throughout these charming travel outfit snaps.

    I’ve always wanted to pet a kangaroo, and also from Australia, a koala bear, too. Neither are easy to come by (let alone be allowed to touch) in this country, so chances are I’d have to hightail half way around the world to do so. Seems like a totally legit reason for a trip, no? 😀

    Big hugs & many thanks for your great comment on today’s post,
    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

