INSPIRATION: Knitting and crochet projects inspired by the yesteryears

Work in Progress: 1950s inspired polka dot knitted sweater

It’s no secret that I enjoy knitting and crochet. However, I have never made anything bigger than a bag, a hat, a scarf or a mini bolero. I guess the reason is two-fold, I am too afraid of screwing up and I have never developed enough motivation to start a big project. A recent trip to the local library, coupled with a sale at Spotlight, has just changed that.

I found the book Vintage Knits for Him & Her: 30 modern knitting patterns for stylish vintage knitwear by mere chance in the library. Published in the UK in 2013, this book contains a massive number (you guessed it, 30) of vintage inspired knitting projects from the 1950s to the 1970s. I was so smitten by this 1950s inspired polka dot number and I just HAD to knit one for myself! This project has consumed every minute of my free time so far. I started this project last weekend and I am about 40% done.

Vintage Knits for Him & Her: 30 modern knitting patterns for stylish vintage knitwear

Vintage Knits for Him & Her: 30 modern knitting patterns for stylish vintage knitwear

Also, a few months ago, I purchased the Patons Book 1318 Vintage Charm: Archive patterns from the 40’s to the 70’s from Spotlight. The patterns are simply too irresistible. This book contains 14 patterns (2 of which are for men) from Patons’ archive. Most of them look like simple sweaters and cardigans, but this crochet top and skirt suit in the book really caught my eye. Well, it was the very reason why I decided to buy the book! I rarely buy pattern books by yarn companies. I have been dreaming about making this suit since I bought the book. So when I went shopping for yarn for the polka dot sweater, I decided to get some yarn for this as well. There were so many colours available for this 8-ply project and I was spoilt for choice. At the end of the day, I decided to go with a sweet mild yellow. What do you think about this colour?

Patons Book 1318 Vintage Charm: Archive patterns from the 40's to the 70's

Patons Book 1318 Vintage Charm: Archive patterns from the 40's to the 70's

Patons Book 1318 Vintage Charm: Archive patterns from the 40's to the 70's

Now, while we’re at the topic of vintage knitting and/or crochet pattern, I just want to share another knitting book that I own. Knitting Vintage: 30 knitting projects inspired by period fashions is a book that I purchased in a cheap book store back when I was in Sydney for just a mere AU$5! Crazy, I know. It was published in Australia in 2011 and features a range of patterns from “The Roaring Twenties” to “The Dramatic Eighties”, with about 4 – 5 projects for each decade.

Knitting Vintage: 30 knitting projects inspired by period fashions

Unsurprisingly, I am most interested in the patterns inspired by the 40s, 50s and 60s. This 1950s inspired “New Look” lace dress and this 1960s aran cardigan are on the top of my list.

Knitting Vintage: 30 knitting projects inspired by period fashions

Knitting Vintage: 30 knitting projects inspired by period fashions

Knitting Vintage: 30 knitting projects inspired by period fashions

In addition to modern reprints, I also own a sizeable collection of vintage knitting and crochet patterns. The Family Crochet Book is one of my most treasured finds. I found this in the local Vinnies back when I was living in Sydney a few years ago. The book jacket was missing, so it was on sale for AU$5. It was the best $5 I have ever spent.

Vintage The Family Crochet Book 1971

As this book was published in 1971, most of the style featured in the book is still pretty much like late 1960s. Here’s a classic pink suit that would make Jackie Kennedy jealous, and a mini dress that screams summer. And oh boy, check out these bathing suits!

Vintage The Family Crochet Book 1971

Vintage The Family Crochet Book 1971

Vintage The Family Crochet Book 1971

This is really just a small fraction of my collection of vintage knitting/crochet pattern books. Perhaps I will share a few more with everyone some other time. Do you enjoy knitting and crochet as well? Have you had any experience with working with modern reprint of knitting patterns or working directly with a vintage pattern? I’d love to see your finished objects! x

Vintage Knitting Pattern Book

2 thoughts on “INSPIRATION: Knitting and crochet projects inspired by the yesteryears

  1. Pingback: MADE: Vintage 1950’s inspired Polka Dot Sweater | Gwenstella Made

  2. Pingback: MADE: 1960s inspired crochet twin set | Gwenstella Made

Leave a Reply

