STYLE INSPIRATION: Grease (1978)

Vintage Retro Pin Up Girl Suicide Roll Rockabilly Hair

I think I am getting better at doing the suicide roll!

I think I am getting better at doing the suicide roll!

Grease … is still the word!

Last night, a few people from Ceroc Singapore and I did a little performance to “Born To Hand Jive” at the British Club. I had an incredible time rock n rollin’ to those familiar tunes from the soundtrack of Grease and it’s a joy from dancing which I haven’t felt in a while. Rock and roll dancing is not common amongst the youth in Singapore and social dance nights that play only rock n roll/rockabilly tunes are practically non-existent in Singapore.

Wearing: Handmade hair flower, thrifted polka dot swing dress, and my trusty black & white dance shoes

Wearing: Handmade hair flower, thrifted polka dot swing dress, and my trusty black & white dance shoes

Of course, I did my hair up and pinned a flower on my head for the night. I also had the chance to transform the other ladies who were performing into pin-up girls for a night! Now that the night is over, the songs from Grease are still in my head and I couldn’t resist watching their videos on Youtube and drooling over the wardrobe from the movie.

Do you like dressing up like Sandy or Rizzo? Here are some iconic pieces from various scenes in the movie and their modern and vintage replicas!

Grease Summer Nights Sandy Rizzo Fashion Style

From top left: Vintage 1950s yellow shirtdress from Blue Fennel (via); Hell Bunny Brenda wiggle dress in black available on BlameBetty (via); scene from the song “Summer Night” in Grease (via)

Grease_Olivia-Newton-John_Peach-Dress-Close

Scene from “Sandra Dee (Reprise)”, Grease (via)

vintage 1950s powder pink shirtdress

Vintage 1950s powder pink shirtdress from Retro On The Rocks (via)

And how can we forget the prom night scene and “Born To Hand Jive”?

Do you know who wore dresses like these to the prom?

Grease 1950s Blue Tulle Prom Dress

Cheerleader’s blue tulle prom dress from The Vintage Mistress (via)

Grease Frenchy's 1950s Yellow Tulle Prom Dress

Frenchy’s yellow tulle prom dress from stutterinmama (via)

 

Grease Rizzo Red Polka Dot Rockabilly Wiggle Dress

Rizzo’s red polka dot wiggle prom dress from Deadly Dames, available on Pin Up Girl Clothing (via)

 

And now I am just thinking if it would be crazy to get a Pink Ladies jacket off eBay…

One thought on “STYLE INSPIRATION: Grease (1978)

Leave a Reply

