OUTFIT: Roses are retro, rompers are rad

Vintage Style Retro Floral Romper Pin Up Girl

Wearing: Retro style floral romper snagged at the Carousell Swap Shop last Saturday

Vintage Style Retro Floral Romper Pin Up Girl

Happiness is when your curls finally have a tiny resemblance to those pictures you have on your Pinterest board

Vintage Style Retro Floral Romper Pin Up Girl

Following the recent release of The Australian Fashion Report 2015, there has been a renewal of interest in the idea of sustainable and/or ethical fashion. These ideas are not new and certainly not unattainable. Admittedly, I am guilty of purchasing cheap Kmart t-shirts during my poorer days in university. But I have always been a big fan of shopping at thrift shops and repurposing second-hand clothes. I fell in love with the idea of swapping clothes when I attended a clothes swap in Sydney back in 2012 (again, as a poorer uni student). It’s green, cost-saving and most importantly.. FUN!

Since returning to Singapore, I have been trying to search for clothes swap meet-ups (without the need to pay a ridiculous $25 entrance fee). Man, I even toyed with the idea of organising one myself! Then, came along Carousell, a home-grown mobile app that works like eBay… It’s an easy-to-use app for selling unwanted clothes and trading items with other users. I have been using it for a while and was over the moon when they recently organised a swap meet!

I swapped 9 items for 9 tokens 2 weeks ago, and made my way to Orchard Central for the swap event itself last Saturday. Yes, this retro floral romper is one of the items I was fortunate enough to find at the swap meet. It’s a tad baggy at the top, so I think I will take it in a little with my sewing machine. I wore it for brunch and a book swap (yes, another swap event) on Sunday. The curls took me 30mins to do but it was worth it. I think this is my best attempt with pin-up hair to date! Next time I’ll be trying out REAL victory rolls.

Vintage Style Retro Floral Romper Pin Up Girl

Wearing: Retro romper (swapped), vintage mid-century style bag (thrifted), shoes from Qoo10

Vintage Style Retro Floral Romper Pin Up Girl

Vintage Style Retro Floral Romper Pin Up Girl

And I know some of you would be wondering… what about the other items I snagged? Behold, here are the (poor, low resolution) photos of the spoils from the swap!

Carousell Swap Shop Clothes Swap

This gorgeous knitted pencil skirt is perfect the perfect workwear!

 

Carousell Swap Shop Clothes Swap

I’m also wearing this for work

 

Carousell Swap Shop Clothes Swap

A simple navy shift dress for work – I might change those plain blue buttons to gold nautical ones for a twist in the look

 

Carousell Swap Shop Clothes Swap

Love the kimono sleeves on this H&M knitted dress!

 

Carousell Swap Shop Clothes Swap

This cropped cardigans could be potentially useful as I continue to build my pin up wardrobe

There are 2 more items in my swap pile that are pretty much ‘meh’, so I have excluded them in this post. Disappointments are unavoidable in a swap meet. But if you have an open mind and an open heart, swap meets are really fun and eco-friendly way of getting “new” clothes to wear. I am probably going to commit the crime of purchasing something (cheap) made in a foreign garment factory with less than desirable ethics but I am constantly trying to be a more responsible citizen of this planet. I often try to tell myself that I don’t need a bigger wardrobe, I need to learn to make do and mend… And I need to swap clothes more often! 😉

Were you also there at the Carousell Swap Shop? Do you also like swapping clothes?

Leave a Reply

