TRAVEL: Vietnam (2015)

Ho Chi Minh City Hall, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam - Love the French colonial architecture style of this building

Ho Chi Minh City Hall, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

If you follow me on Instagram @gwenstellamade, you would have seen several photos of my adventures in Vietnam a few weeks ago. Yes, my boyfriend and I went on a 9-day trip to Vietnam and it was such a good trip! One of the best things about being a Singaporean and living in Singapore is the ability to travel southeast Asian countries easily and quickly. Most destinations are just a few hours away on the plane and there is no need for a visa.

There are so many things we did and ate on the trip, here’s just a selection of some of the memorable moments I managed to capture in photo.

These retro floor tiles caught my eye while my boyfriend was getting his feet measured for a pair of custom-made leather shoes. He got a pair of simple brown shoes made to measure for USD50.

Retro floor tiles, Hoi An, Vietnam

These retro floor tiles caught my eye while my boyfriend was getting his feet measured for a pair of custom-made leather shoes. He got a pair of simple brown shoes made to measure for USD50.

Reaching Out Tea House, Hoi An, Vietnam

Reaching Out Tea House, Hoi An, Vietnam

It’s no surprise that I found my way into a teahouse while on a holiday. This teahouse hired people with hearing impairment and the entire teahouse is a sanctuary for people who want to get away from the busy market streets just for a while.

Dinner against the beautiful sunset

Dinner against the beautiful sunset, Hoi An, Vietnam

Did I forget to mention that this trip was also part of my birthday celebration? My boyfriend booked a sunset dinner cruise with Cinnamon Cruises in Hoi An for my birthday dinner. We were lucky because there happened to be NO ONE ELSE on the same boat with us.

Shopping for craft supplies, Hanoi, Vietnam

Shopping for craft supplies, Hanoi, Vietnam

And then boom! We were in Hanoi and there was a street with every single store selling craft supplies like zippers and beads! As you can see, I was a very happy girl.

Street banh mi stall, Hanoi, Vietnam

Street banh mi stall, Hanoi, Vietnam

In Hanoi, our search for the best banh mi (aka Vietnamese cold cut sandwich) began. It wasn’t this streetside stall. Get your best cold cut traditional banh mi for just 1USD at Banh My Ba Dan on 34 Lò Sū.

Hanoi springrolls freshly fried in a cooking class, Hanoi, Vietnam

Hanoi springrolls freshly fried in a cooking class, Hanoi, Vietnam

These fried Hanoi spring rolls were so tasty and easy to make! I can’t wait to try the recipe we learnt in our cooking class now that we’re back home.

Tam Coc, Vietnam

Tam Coc, Vietnam

And because we got weary of the busy streets of Hanoi, we also spent a day in Tam Coc. The tour guide described it as touring Ha Long Bay on land. He was wrong. We travelled around the rice fields and countryside with Ha Long Bay in the background.. on rickety bicycles.

Ha Long Bay, Vietnam

Ha Long Bay, Vietnam

And of course, we travelled to Ha Long Bay by boat to see the UNESCO World Heritage site up-close and personal. We travelled and stayed overnight with ANNAM JUNK which kept us well-fed with 8 – 9 course meals. I will never forget the experience of kayaking along one of these limestone beauties.

Coconut coffee smoothie in Cong Caphe, Hanoi, Vietnam

Coconut coffee smoothie in Cong Caphe, Hanoi, Vietnam

Last but not least, this coconut coffee smoothie has got me hooked! I have never been a coffee drinker, but this little devil has got me wanting more. Does anyone have any good coconut coffee smoothie recipe to share?

And there you go, that’s my little adventure in Vietnam.

Have you travelled to Vietnam? What was your most memorable experience?

 

xo G

One thought on “TRAVEL: Vietnam (2015)

Leave a Reply

