SEWN: Take A Holiday Gathered & Flared Skirt

Take A Holiday 50s Inspired Gathered & Flared Skirt

Oh hello March!

I think I am starting to get the hang of sewing skirts. This gathered and flared skirt was really easy to assemble. Best of all, I cut the pieces myself without any sewing pattern involved! This is the first time I have sewn a clothing itemย without the help of a paper pattern. True, a skirt is super easy. But at least this is a start!

Take A Holiday 50s Inspired Gathered & Flared Skirt
Take A Holiday 50s Inspired Gathered & Flared Skirt

This skirt was made with just 1 yard of fabric. I think I have just made up my mind that skirts are the best fabric stash buster.

I bought this dreamy fabric from Spotlight just a few months ago. The houses and trees remind me of the streets I used to walk along in Sydney.. Ah… those long sunny days and hazy summer dreams…

Yes, novelty prints are the best. And why yes, this project was inspired by all the novelty print skirts and dresses from the 1950s. Here are some more to spark some inspiration!

1950s novelty print skirts

(via)

 

1950s novelty print skirts

From left to right: here, here, here

 

Only 2 more weeks to my next holiday! Woohoo! xoxo G

8 thoughts on “SEWN: Take A Holiday Gathered & Flared Skirt

Leave a Reply

