Baked: LOVE and shortbread cookies

LOVE - shortbread cookies

BAM! In the blink of an eye, January has come and gone. How has 2015 been for you so far? One of my goals for 2015 is to make more things. I haven’t been very good at keeping up with my handmade projects in 2013 and 2014 because of several personal reasons and unforeseen events. But this year, I’m going to make a comeback. Hey, this is already my 3rd post of the year! Yay!

Lately, I have gone into baking. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean that I have a growing burning passion in the art and chemistry of baking. No siree, never in this life. To be honest, I can’t bake to save my life. But the idea of baking some sugar cookies for my own cup of afternoon tea and my boyfriend’s sweet tooth was kinda tempting.

Typo Eat Me Cookie Stamp

Then, I finally caved when I bought this cookie stamp from Typo several months back at a sale. My first attempt at baking shortbread cookies was abysmal. The dough was sticky and tricky to cut out. The copious amount go flour I added made the cookies crumbly and kinda… plain… But at least they looked pretty with the cute cookie stamp!

Eat Me Alice in Wonderland Shortbread Cookies

Eat Me Alice in Wonderland Shortbread Cookies

Fast-forward a few months later, the February page of the 2015 Mollie Makes calendar beckoned me to fill the house with the aroma of baked cookies once more. Also, I bought a pre-loved 101 Wilton cookie cutter set for just $10. And so, I sold my soul to the shortbread cookies fairies. I made shortbread cookies again, this time with a scallop-edge heart, and the letters ‘L’, ‘O’, ‘V’, ‘E’. You guessed it right, I was inspired by Valentine’s Day that’s coming up this Saturday.

LOVE - shortbread cookies

Afternoon tea, Mollie Makes, shortbread cookies

LOVE - shortbread cookies

The recipe featured in the Mollie Makes calendar leaves a sweeter aftertaste than the original recipe I used. I think I am probably going to go along with the Mollie Makes recipe and tweak it along the way to make it just right in terms of sweetness. Oh yeah, and next time, I am going to remember to roll out and chill the dough before cutting the shapes. Apparently this is what people do to get good shortbread cookies… according to the internet.

I have decided that I could simply master one cookie recipe. One. Just one. I can’t bake red velvet cake or chewy chocolate chip cookie for sure, but perhaps I could bake a smashing good shortbread cookie. Besides, there are 101 cookie cutters for me to play with.

P.S.: If you have great tips and tricks on baking shortbread cookies, I’d love to hear them! xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

