SEWN: Mid-century inspired gingham pants

Sears Catalog, Spring/Summer 1958

I have always wanted a pair of mid-century pants. I have several poofy mid-century style dresses, circle skirts, and super tight rockabilly high-waisted shorts. Those are great, but I have always wanted something more casual for a lazy weekend. Of course, buying true vintage or reproduction is out of question because of cost and fit. I can’t even find a pair of modern denim jeans that fit me properly because my hips are a size bigger than my waist.

And then my chance came with the Italian pattern making class. I can now draft my own pattern for a pair of pants that fits me nicely!

1.5 years on and most of what I wear is still handmade and/or from Sydney...

1.5 years on and most of what I wear is still handmade and/or from Sydney…

Pattern: My very own
Fabric: Black and white gingham seersucker

And also, this is the first time that I sewed a front fly zip! I have been avoiding doing this for the longest time because my mother told me it would be challenging. I should have known better – it was NOT too difficulty. I am not kidding. If you are scared of front fly zipper, don’t be. It’s not that difficult. There’s Youtube. There’s blogs. There’s the Internet.

photo 4-3

Do you get the implication of this? Do you get it at all? This means that I can now make a zillion pairs of peddle pushers, shorts, pants in various prints – floral, polka dot, paisley… Ok perhaps a zillion is just an overstatement. But you get me.

So much happiness fromΒ simple a pair of gingham pants. x

2 thoughts on “SEWN: Mid-century inspired gingham pants

  1. Your shorts are amazing, I love that style too, I like high waisted shorts trousers and have the same difference in my sizing too, so have given up on shop clothes.

    I totally get how excited you are, you spend forever NOT getting things you like then to suddenly have choice and things that fit you properly makes you very happy.

    Congratulations, here’s to good fitting and beautiful sewing projects πŸ™‚

    Best wishes

    Billie.

    I’m making my first top from a pattern at the moment which is scary but just with it pinned together it fits so much better than anything I can buy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

